Metro Lounge and Restaurant, Bryanston

A few months ago I was invited to the Metro Lounge and Restaurant launch.  This is an established restaurant in Sandton which relocated to Grosvenor Crossing in Bryanston.  I had a good time at the launch

Metro Lounge and Restaurant is chic, classy, contemporary, welcoming and friendly.

Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve were set aside for a ball.  I attended the Christmas Eve celebration, a function sponsored by Bains Cape Mountain Whisky.  I first tasted this single grain whisky at Whisky Live.  Distilled by James Sedgwick in Wellington, it is matured in first fill bourbon casks for five years.  It has that interesting, rich, citrus warmth of bourbon.  We were assured we could have as much of this as we wanted.  I was driving.  I had to settle for just one.

metro-1

I was at the Metro Christmas Eve ball

Why just one?  Well, for my second one we switched to Pongracz.  Apparently Desiderius Pongracz was an Hungarian noble-born viticulturist who served and was captured in WWII where he was held as a prisoner of war in Siberia.  After the war he returned to Hungary, eventually emigrating to Namibia and then South Africa where he studied further at Stellenbosch.  He later introduced many new vines into South Africa. Pongracz MCC is one of South Africa’s most popular bubblies and the Desiderius in its beautiful bottle is one of the premiere MCCs, not only in this country, but in the world.

Metro’s cuisine is African fusion.  Upmarket presentation, large portions and interesting flavours and textures make this an ideal place to take people who are visiting South Africa, or to for a business or social meal.  Try the goat or the chicken curry.  I enjoyed the salmon with mashed potatoes – no make that a mountain of mashed potatoes.

A typical evening includes live jazz music, and all Metro’s glitz and glamour and the attention of Kosta Kosmas, the owner and manager of Metro.

I enjoyed myself.  I am sure you will too.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Food, Wine and other alcohol. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

