Hot Stone Massage at R.U.B.

Relax, Unwind, Breathe.  R.U.B.  A health and beauty salon situated in Bryanston at Coachman’s Crossing, next to the Mugg and Bean.

Rub Salon 21 - Photo Credit Liandri du Plessis.jpg

I have always wanted a hot stone massage, so when I was offered one free, in return for an article on it, I jumped at the chance.  I am going to rave a bit below, but I do believe that the “free” treatment has in no way biased the report. Basically, I see this a bit like a secret shopper assignment, reporting back what I have found. Obviously, however, if it were terrible, the report would be secret too, otherwise, what you see is what I got.

The therapist was Portia and she began by getting a very brief medical history from me. They do not use a standard questionnaire and I wasn’t required to sign anything which surprised me a little. I wouldn’t have objected to signing a waiver that I had disclosed all medical conditions.

I was offered the opportunity to go to the bathroom before undressing (a wise precaution because one really doesn’t want to interrupt such a pleasurable activity – or just as bad, be uncomfortable through it all, waiting for it to finish).   I like that I could change in the same room as the treatment, as it added further privacy to the experience.

The difference between a hot stone massage at R.U.B. and an ordinary one elsewhere is that Portia used the stones as well as her hands to apply the pressure.  They were very smooth, and apart from the heat I couldn’t always tell which was which.  This might have been because I was in a pleasure induced trance.

Those who know me in real life know that I am morbidly obese and I am sometimes self-conscious about it.  Portia handled it like the professional she is and there was no hinted body shaming at all. It is sad that I should have to mention this delightful positive at all, but most places leave me feeling a tad (or more than just a tad) insecure.

Hot stone massage is particularly beneficial for muscular pain, poor circulation, rheumatic and arthritic conditions, fibromyalgia, back pain, stress, insomnia, depression and some chronic injuries.’

Portia used eucalyptus and lavender essential oils.  A trick is to have a shower before the massage and then to leave the oils on the skin for as long as possible, certainly for 24 hours if possible, although the oils will carry on imparting benefits for up to 48 hours.

This treatment really did help me to relax, unwind and breathe as Portia worked the tissues of my body using both hot stones and hand strokes.  I could feel myself growing calmer and more serene as the hour wore on.

Hot stone massage can:

  • boost circulation
  • release stored tension
  • recharge energy levels
  • relax the body

It did all these things for me and I loved the experience and recommend it highly.

One suggestion for improvement. At the end of the session after Portia left me to doze before dressing, I needed to use the loo.  The staff member I asked just pointed.  The loo is not marked.  I tried two doors before find it.  Both were treatment rooms.  If they had been in use I would have intruded.  The toilet needs a clear signpost marking it as such.  It would be helpful for first timers.

As the silly/busy season draws near, I can recommend the clutter free gift of a hot stone massage as a treat from a boss to a deserving employee, or a salon day instead of an office party for an all female team, or simply as gift to a friend or a treat for oneself.  It really is something to enjoy.

 

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Johannesburg, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

