Desierto

Cinema Nouveau is bringing the Mexican Best Foreign Language Film entry to the 89th Academy Awards in the form of the 2015 Desierto.  The movie is all about a xenophobic American vigilante who sets out to kill a group of illegal Mexican immigrants as they cross into the USA.

Desierto_Film_2015_Poster.jpg

Desierto is directed by co-written and directed by Jonas Cuaron. It stars Gael Garcia Bernal as the hero, Moises, with Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Sam – the bad guy, and Alondra Hidalgo as Adela. There is also a beautiful dog, Tracker.

I did not particularly enjoy this movie and hesitate to recommend it, but that might be just me.

I give it a wishy-washy 5/10.

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Movies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

