The giving and receiving of rings in a wedding ceremony

Moira de Swardt.
Marriage Officer, South Africa.
Cell:  082 553 2457
E-mail: moirads@wol.co.za
Rings.  A true status symbol.  They are a symbol of your marital status.
The words used when exchanging rings vary from traditional to modern.  The officiant can bless your rings before you exchange rings.
Marriage rings 2.jpg
Here are some examples:

 

1.

Officiant: To Groom:

________ will you take this ring and place it upon _____’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

The following can be broken down line by line instead of said all at once.

I give you this ring as a symbol of my vow, and with all that I am, and all that I have, I honor you, in the name of God.

Officiant: To Bride:

_________ will you take this ring and place it upon ________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

The following can be broken down line by line instead of said all at once.

I give you this ring as a symbol of my vow, and with all that I am, and all that I have, I honor you, in the name of God.

2.

Officiant: To Groom:

_________ will you take this ring and place it upon ________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

Officiant: With this ring, I thee wed and with it I bestow upon thee my pledge of faithfulness and enduring love.

Officiant: To Bride:

_________ will you take this ring and place it upon ________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

Officiant:
With this ring, I thee wed and with it I bestow upon thee my pledge of faithfulness and enduring love.

3.

Officiant: To Groom:

___________ will you take this ring and place it upon ______’s finger, and as you do, repeat to her, after me, these words:

I give you this ring, as I give you myself, with love and affection. Wear it in peace always.

To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon _________’s finger, and as you do, repeat to him, after me, these words:

I give you this ring, as I give you myself, with love and affection. Wear it in peace always.

4.

Officiant:  To Groom:

________will you take this ring and place it upon _____’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

____________, I give you this ring as a symbol of my vow, and with all that I am, and all that I have, I honor you, in the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

Officiant:  To Bride:

________will you take this ring and place it upon _____’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

____________, I give you this ring as a symbol of my vow, and with all that I am, and all that I have, I honor you, in the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

 

5.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

As a sign from my heart that I desire to live with you from this day forward, and that you may remember forever that I have chosen you above all others, I give you this ring as a symbol of my love.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

As a sign from my heart that I desire to live with you from this day forward, and that you may remember forever that I have chosen you above all others, I give you this ring as a symbol of my love.

6.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

____________, with this ring I marry you and I promise to be true for so long as we both shall live.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

____________, with this ring I marry you and I promise to be true for so long as we both shall live.

7.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

With this ring, I give you my heart, I promise from this day forward, you shall not walk alone, may my heart be your shelter, and my arms be your home.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

With this ring, I give you my heart, I promise from this day forward, you shall not walk alone, may my heart be your shelter, and my arms be your home.

8.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

Take and wear this ring as a symbol of our love.  With it I wed you, and give you my body, soul, and heart.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

Take and wear this ring as a symbol of our love.  With it I wed you, and give you my body, soul, and heart.

9.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I give you this ring as a symbol of our love. With it I wed you, and commit my life to you forever.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I give you this ring as a symbol of our love. With it I wed you, and commit my life to you forever.

10.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I give you this ring that you may wear it as a symbol of the vows I have made to you today.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I give you this ring that you may wear it as a symbol of the vows I have made to you today.

11.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

With this ring, I marry you, pledging my loyalty, love and life, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

With this ring, I marry you, pledging my loyalty, love and life, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

12.

Officiant: To Groom:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ______’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I, ____________, give to you ____________, this ring, as a symbol of my commitment to love, honor, and respect you.

Officiant: To Bride:

____________ will you take this ring and place it upon ____________’s finger, and as you do, repeat after me, these words:

I, ____________, give to you ____________, this ring, as a symbol of my commitment to love, honor, and respect you.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Marriages, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The giving and receiving of rings in a wedding ceremony

  1. Steve says:

    In the Orthodox Church the priest gives the golden ring to the man and the silver ring to the woman, then says three times to the man “The servant of God N is betrothed to the handmaid of God N, in the name of the Father, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen
    And then gives the silver ring to the woman and says three times The handmaid of God N is betrothed to the servant of God N, in the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.
    Then they (or the sponsors) exchange rings three times, saying nothing, and the man ends up with the silver one and the woman with the gold one.

Leave a Reply

