A Class of One at Market Theatre

A Class of One is a double bill at The Market Theatre, upstairs at the Barney Simon Theatre.

A class of one

It features [Cold Case] Revisiting Dulcie September written by Basil Appollis and Sylvia Vollenhoven, starring Denise Newman, directed by Basil Appollis and My Word! Redesigning Buckingham Palace written by Sylvia Vollenhoven, starring Basil Appollis directed by Sandra Temmingh.

These are two important stories in South Africa’s history.  I saw the Dulcie September story in Grahamstown in 2014 and even before this I had at least heard of Dulcie September, although I didn’t know much about her.  The story of Richard Rive was entirely new to me. I had never even heard of him.  The value of works like this is that they keep these stories alive.  There are many of them, and all of them are important to tell, to record for future generations.

2016 marks fifty years since the demise of District Six and forty years since the rise of The Market Theatre with its tradition of telling the stories the censors want kept under wraps.

Please note that this starts at 19:00 so you don’t miss [Cold Case].  Basil Appollis as Richard Rive charmed me greatly.  He is an excellent actor and the work is easy on the psyche, even humorous, given its somewhat harrowing context.

A Class of One runs at The Market Theatre until 7 August 2016.

 

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

