The Anatomy of Crime

I don’t read much crime fiction so the work of Val McDermid was not known to me.  I started reading, Forensics, The Anatomy of Crime, as an exercise in Criminology.  From the outset I was stunned at how readable the work was.  It was only then that I realised that Val McDermid is a practised and experienced genius in the field of writing entertainingly about crime.

Forensics

So, here we o find her engaged in explaining the work of forensic scientists to lay people. Along the way she explains the history of each forensic field from the first recorded autopsy (that of the body of Julius Caesar) to the Great Fire of London and modern advances which allow crimes to be solved years after the case has officially been closed.

She works through twelve chapters, all equally interesting.  Theintegrity of the crime scene, fire investigation, entomology (probably best not to read this while eating a sandwich if one is squeamish), .pathology, toxicology, finger printing, blood spatter and DNA, anthropology, facial reconstruction, digital forensics, forensic psychology, and the courtroom.

The book makes extensive use of case histories and interviews and it is a compelling read for anyone who has any interest in crime whatsoever.  One of these case histories has a South African connection to the truths uncovered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

I am definitely planning to read some of her fiction as a direct result of how fascinating I found this somewhat more scholarly work of non-fiction. I recommend it highly.

  • Title:  Forensics
  • Subtitle:  The Anatomy of Crime
  • Author:  Val McDermid
  • Publisher:  Profile Books. Wellcome (locally available from Penguin Random House)
  • Year: 2014
  • Paperback
  • Recommended selling price: R220
  • ISBN 978 178125 1690

 

About moirads

Multi-skilled, trained theologian (Christian), administrator and journalist, I conduct weddings, funerals and facilitate spiritual growth workshops. Theatre, music, dance and visual arts are my passions. I have been making my musical musings, theatre talks and dance dialogues public since February 1999 when I acquired access to the internet. Books are another passion, and I have a particular interest in South African ecology and history. I have been interested in first aid and health 'forever' because my mother was a highly qualified nurse and my father was a safety officer. I did a first aid course, a fire fighting course and then an advanced first aid course and I loved them. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Anatomy of Crime

Leave a Reply

