The 5th Wave

5th-Wave_poster

I didn’t really like the movie, baced on a novel, The 5th Wave, by Rick Yancey.

The science fiction thriller was directed by J Blakeson and stars Chloe Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, Liev Schreiber and others.  The acting is good, and Chloe Grace Moretz is pretty and convincing.

The movie has the post-apocalyptic American fixation with firearms, and I hate that. It glorifies civilians having firearms, and America (and South Africa) hardly needs more of that. As one can see from this movie it is not easy to recall a bullet when one has an oopsie.

I am not really the target market – teenagers probably are – but it is entertaining, despite some holes in the plot and I give it a mediocre 5/10.   It is in the same genre as The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games, but lacks the appeal of either of those.

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

