Wildlife Southern Africa

  • Title:  Wildlife Southern Africa
  • Sub-title:  National Parks and Reserves
  • Author:   Marielle Renssen
  • Photographers:  Various
  • Publishers:  Map Studio
  • Year:  2015
  • Recommended Selling Price:  R250.00
  • ISBN:  978-1-77026-801-2

WildlifeSACover-282x500

There can be few people who know me who don’t know that my choice of holiday destinations is always a national park or game reserve.  This book, Wildlife Southern African National Park and Reserves lists over 300 parks and reserves in Southern Africa.  I have visited only a very small percentage of them.

Alphabetically they range from Addo in the Eastern Cape (visited) to Zinave National Park in Mocambique (not visited).  Geographically they are dotted all over.

The book starts on the West Coast and the first place I have visited is the Cederberg Wilderness Area, Matjiesrivier Nature Reserve.  They mention the San paintings, some of which I have actually seen.  I have also visited Bird Island near Lamberts Bay.  In 2014 I spent a month in the Eastern Cape, some of it at Addo Elephant National Park.  My late father was born in Harrismith, under the shadow (almost) of the Drakensberg, and we headed there often for a break from Johannesburg traffic. Golden Gate, Willem Pretorius, Gariep, Pilansberg, Magaliesberg, Suikerbosrand, Loskop, Dullstroom, Cradle of Humankind, Krugersdorp, Rietvlei, Tswaing, Roodeplaat, Hwange, Victoria Falls, Chimanimani, Chipinge, Nyaga, Kariba and more are also places I have visited. And of course I have visited, regularly, the Jewel in the Crown of Parks, the Kruger National Park. I am curious as to why the parks and reserves of Swaziland were excluded.

The book gives a map, reserve descriptions, contact details, size of park and what wildlife one is most likely to see there.  For example the Cederberg lists, inter alia, the porcupine and the puff adder.  It was there that I saw my first of both of these animals.  It also gives GPS Co-ordinates and places of interest and accommodation.  It is great for people planning short and long holiday breaks.

It is definitely worth consulting when planning holidays.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Ecology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildlife Southern Africa

  1. puppy1952 says:

    Thanks for this book suggestion – I am also a frequent visitor to game reserves and will look for this publication.

Leave a Reply

