The Diary of a Teenage Girl, a profoundly disturbing movie

Billed as a comedy-drama, The Diary of a Teenage Girl is a drama.  I didn’t find anything about it funny at all.  It is the story of a fifteen year old girl, Minnie Goetz (Bel Powley) whose sexual experimentation begins with her mother’s current boyfriend, Monroe (Alexander Skarsgard).

Director Marielle Heller has done an excellent job of The Diary of a Teenage Girl based on the book by Phoebe Gloeckner.  I found the movie disturbing to say the least, but it is nevertheless compelling viewing, despite the number of emotions which swirled around in my heart and the number of arguments swishing around in my head during the screening.

Set in 1976, this would have made the “heroine” three years younger than me.  I identified with her. The characterisations, even of some of the minor players, are excellent and nothing ever jars.  Everything stays rather horrifyingly plausible and life goes on as “normal”.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

This is one which one sees at one’s own risk, but if one chooses to see it, the movie itself is excellent.

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

