Siba at the Delicious Festival in Joburg on Saturday 6 June 2015

Siba Mtongana

Siba Mtongana

Q. Siba, this is not your first rodeo at the Delicious Festival, tell us a little bit about the event?

The Delicious Festival is a food and music festival with local and international artists. It is a fun filled day that a whole family can enjoy, picnic style.

Q. What are you most looking forward to at the 2015 Delicious Festival?

I’m looking forward to meeting my Jozi fan base and interactivity with them. As well as interacting, showcasing some of the new recipes from my second season that is coming up later this year. There is also the music legend, Chaka Khan whom I’m excited to see performing live.

Q. What kind of music do you like listen to?

I like old soulful old school music and I also listen to a lot of local and international Christian music.

Q. Who is your favourite performer or band?

It’s a mix, for instance for Christian music I like Cece Wynans, Donny McClurkin, The Clark Sisters, Hillsong United band and many more. For circular music I love Shade, Nora Jones, etc.

Q. While you are in the kitchen, do you prefer a nice quiet kitchen or is there always some music on in the background?

Bit of both, when I’m testing recipes, I want dead silence as I have to focus and concentrate. When cooking socially for family and friends then like having a bit of music to create ambiance.

Q. With all the food options any one could ever hope for at the Delicious Festival, how do you personally decide what you are going to eat?

Decisions, decisions – I always go for quirky new food options that I may not have tried before for a bit of adventure.

Q. Why do you think people pop by the Food Network stand at the 2015 Delicious Festival?

Well, Food Network is a very popular food channel in this country and people want to see their favourite chefs cooking live and interact with them, whether it be book signings or taking selfies – it’s a special moment for many!

Q. Could you tell us a little about your new series that’s coming to Food Network?

It is the long awaited second season of Siba’s Table, where my whole family is featured, including my last born son, who will be seen by many for the first time :-). I’m back in the kitchen once more whipping up gorgeous food for my family and friends. I also have a lot of adventures outside the kitchen showcasing what is trending and buzzing in the Cape Town restaurant and food scene.

Q. What’s been your favourite part of the series to film?

Everything – I like filming when we are in the kitchen and when we have guests over too. I also enjoy filming out and about.

Q. What was the inspiration behind the creation of these super speedy and delicious meals?

Our lives are so busy that for most people it often becomes a chore having to cook for the family. So I wanted make things a little easier for home cooks by bringing out wonderful dishes that are easy and quick to make.

Q. If you could invite any four people to your table, who would they be and why?

It would be Oprah Winfrey, as I have loved her for many years and followed her show religiously. Then Barack Obama as we share the same hero, our late former president Nelson Mandela. Also, Obamas story to presidency inspires me. Then Jamie Oliver as he is the ultimate food rock-star. Then pastor TD Jakes as I live his sermons. I would insist that Brian be present to help with hosting!

Q. People from all around the globe are tuning in to Food Network to catch their daily dose of Siba, what is it in your opinion that makes your show so universal?

Many people love the recipes, the fact that the ingredients are every day and accessible ingredients that they are familiar with, and that the food is impressive but doesn’t look intimidating to make. Others have written to me saying I have a very warm and inviting personality and somehow that draws them to the show. Some say the show is beautifully shot. Some like the family aspect of the show and others love seeing a few glances of Cape Town – so I’d say, it’s a collective mix of things.

Q. You often speak of your mom as being your inspiration, is there a specific dish that comes to mind, that she has passed down to you?

Many, but our traditional midday snack mfino lade of onion, spinach and maize meal is one of my favourites. I even jazzed it up with fritters topped with soy mayo and cooked smoked peppered salmon!

Q. What’s next for Siba?

Third season, cookbook and a few other things that I currently can’t disclose – so watch this space 🙂

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Food, Johannesburg, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

