Reza Mahammad, The Spice Prince at the Delicious Festival

Reza and Jenny

Reza and Jenny

1. This is going to be your first Delicious Festival, what are you expecting from the event?

It is going to be an extravaganza by all accounts – I am sure we will have a lot of fun – both cooking and bopping to the sounds of Chaka Khan!

2. What can your fans expect from the Spice Prince at the festival?

I shall be doing a double act with the wonderful Jenny Morris – we always love to cook and laugh together – and share our passion with the public…

3. Why do you think people pop by the Food Network stand at the 2015 Delicious Festival?

I am very fortunate to work with amazing chefs and co presenters for Food Network – my latest series is with Jenny Morris – a truly wonderful person and food encyclopaedia! We will both be at the show and hopefully representing the best of what Food Network has to offer — personality and culinary expertise!

4. What kind of music do you like listen to?

I love a very eclectic mix of music – all things, from Bach to blues – I have always had music and musicians in my life – it is my number one passion (aside from food of course!) It could be literally anything – Wagner opera, Beethoven symphonies, Chopin etudes, Strauss songs, Queen/ Freddie Mercury, Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Adele – the list will go on and on…!

5. Who is your favourite performer or band?

It very much depends on my mood… I have been loving Scott Bradlee and Postmodern Jukebox of late – real toe tapping stuff and genius arrangements… Also Schubert’s impromptus – especially the C minor performed by Maria Joao Pires.

6. While you are in the kitchen, do you prefer a nice quiet kitchen or is there always some music on in the background?

There is ALWAYS music on in the background.. I love to sing and, er dance along!

7. Could you tell us a little about your new series that’s coming to Food Network?

It is a food academy with Jenny Morris and myself. Jenny and I both have cookery schools – Jenny’s in Cape Town and mine is near Bordeaux, France. It is has been wonderful to take our love of teaching to the screen!

8. What’s been your favourite part of the series to film?

The interactive quality with participants and having a fabulous co-presenter to bounce ideas off.

9. If you could invite any four people to your table, who would they be and why?

Let’s indulge me here and assume they can be departed from the planet – in which case – conversation is key. I have no doubt that the following dinner guests would be sublimely entertaining. Shakespeare, Beethoven, Noel Coward and Leonardo da Vinci (!!)

10.People from all around the globe are tuning in to Food Network to catch their daily dose of Reza, The Spice Prince. What, in your opinion, makes your show so universal?

I love all food, all cuisine – I am passionate about discovering new recipes and techniques. I very much hope that this is conveyed in my programmes – my genuine enthusiasm for the people and experiences on my travels. Food is the best way to bring people together and break down barriers (alongside music in fact!) – it is such a universal topic and wonderful that shows can capture that universal appeal…

11. You have travelled the world, what country in your opinion has the most delicious cuisine?

All countries have their individual character and appeal.. too many to single out one..

12. This is not the first time that you have visited South Africa, how have you enjoyed your
trip?

SA is quite literally my second home – I am frequently back and forth and love the country and people.

13. Have you tasted any South African cuisine on your trip? What is your favourite?

I have been terribly spoilt on my recent trips to SA – as Jenny Morris has cooked the most fabulous food for me in her own home…

14. What does the rest of 2015 hold for the Spice Prince?

I am travelling nonstop – will be back in SA for the food festivals later in the year and will be giving live demos back in the UK also. I am spending the Summer at Chez Cartier, my home and cookery school in the beautiful Charente – running hands on cookery workshops. Never a dull moment!!!

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

