International orchestra visits South Africa in April

I had never heard of the Alma Chamber Orchestra.  It is a new orchestra with members drawn from some of France’s top symphonic orchestras and instrumentalists. It is dedicated to performing worldwide in order to support music by presenting innovative and international programmes. It also promotes values through music. This universal message promotes music to each and every culture and every generation.

The Alma Chamber Orchestra featuring Anne Govain

The Alma Chamber Orchestra featuring Anne Gravoin as concertmaster and artistic director

They will be visiting South Africa for its 21st year after democracy as part of their  ‘World Tour for Unity’ led by concertmaster and artistic director, Anne Gravoin.  The soloist is the famous Brazilian pianist Nelson Freire who will play Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4, under the direction of Lionel Bringuier, the programme will include works by Beethoven (Egmont Overture), Mendelssohn (Symphony Number 4) and Wael Binali (Earth), the latter being performed in the Durban concert only.

Pianist Nelson Freire will play Beethoven's 4th piano concerto.

Pianist Nelson Freire will play Beethoven’s 4th piano concerto.

South African audiences can look forward to three performances in Johannesburg at the Linder Auditorium on 22 April at 19:30, Durban at the City Hall on 23 April at 19:30 and Soweto at Regina Mundi where they will share a stage with the Buskaid Soweto String Ensemble on Saturday 25 April 2015 at 15:00.  The latter concert will be free.

Members of The Alma Chamber Orchestra will host master classes in Durban and Umlazi on Friday 24 April to facilitate collaborative education, signifying unity through music.

All tickets, except for the concert at the Regina Mundi Church in Soweto (which is free) will be available from Computicket from 30 March 2015 on


About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Classical Music, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s