Siba Mtongana returns with a new series in March 2015

Siba Mtongana, celebrity chef, is rapidly becoming a South African national treasure.  She is the only South African television personality whose show has made it to American small screens.  Her very natural presentation style is appealing.

Siba Mtongana

Siba Mtongana

From 12 March on Thursdays at 21:00 her new series Siba’s Table Fast Feasts will be screened on the Food Network, DStv Chanel 175.

Members of the media were recently treated to a preview screening and a taste of some of the foods from the series and these were delicious.  We got to try items from the various episodes, of which there are five.

Wellingtons Sauces are sponsors of the series and we each went home with a goodie bag with some of the Wellingtons staples.  One of the bottles in my bag which I am looking forward to trying is the sweet chilli sauce.  I have recently been diagnosed with type two diabetes and the amount of sugar I now have in my diet is extremely limited, so I won’t make sweet things, but at some time in the future I will allow myself a spoon of the sweet chilli sauce on some chicken or cheese to spice up the very bland bits and bites that diabetics who control their sugar intake entire by diet are encouraged to eat.

There are five shows in the Siba’s Table Fast Feasts series:

  • Weekday and Wonderful
  • Speedy Sunday
  • Brisk Braai
  • Feast from the East
  • Super Speedy Dinner Party

We started the event with one of her cocktails and a selection of vegetables and her red pepper hummus.  Her home made cheese straws were also on the table and these went quickly.

Siba's Cheese Straws are every bit as good as they look.

Siba’s Cheese Straws are every bit as good as they look.

We tested the lamb chops with pesto and I will never prepare my lamb chops any other way now, as well as a variety of sides, including her grilled corn salad, couscous salad and more.

Corn and Green beans amongst other things ...

Corn and Green beans amongst other things …

Her Red Velvet Delight dessert charmed the members of the media and I noticed that there was not one plate with a half eaten dessert on it.  I was being good, so settled for coffee after my excellent lunch, feeling both boring and virtuous as I declined the offer of dessert.  When the desserts came out there was a dish which I could probably have eaten without a sugar spike – Siba’s Caramelised Pineapple done on the braai – a dish which only takes three minutes to prepare (no, they obviously haven’t seen me battling a pineapple with its peel) and five minutes on the braai.   This is how it is done – take the pineapple and cut it into approximately 12 slices.  Insert skewer sticks into each one.  Combine the grated zest of 4 limes with 3 tablespoons castor sugar.  Sprinkle over both sides of the pineapple. Braai. Serve as is (how it was presented to the media) or with ice cream.

Pineapple Spears

Pineapple Spears

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Food, Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Siba Mtongana returns with a new series in March 2015

  1. olwethu says:

    Yeah I love Siba she inspires me a lot. This is just beyond exciting ! 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Great job Siba:) I’m looking forward to that!!!

  3. Thobile Dhlodhlo says:

    I love your show my sisters would say u love watching this show, I just laugh when they say tt you hv helped me grow in my culinary skills. You are such an inspiration to me.

Leave a Reply

