Arts and Culture Trust winners for 2014

On 25 November 2014, The Arts & Culture Trust held their 17th ACT Awards ceremony at the Maslow Hotel in Johannesburg.  The Awards Ceremony has two divisions, one for ACT Lifetime Achievement Awards and ImpACT Awards for young professionals with less than five years experience at The Maslow Hotel in Johannesburg.

It was a glitzy masked ball with a magnificent dinner and very fine entertainment by a range of artists including Gloria Bosman.  The Who’s Who of the art world and the sponsors of The Arts & Culture Trust were present as ACT also celebrated 20 years of commitment to making the arts happen.



The ImpACT Awards winners were Jade Bowers (first left in photo above) for Theatre, Thabo Makhethe-Kwinana for Design (second from left), Bevan de Wet (far right in photo above) for Visual Art, and Nomfundo Xaluva (second from right) for Music. The Judging Panel for the 2014 ImpACT Awards was headed by ACT Ambassador and creative professional Caroline Smart, with judges: visual artist David Koloane, arts education and heritage activist Nadia Virasamy, 2013 Standard Bank Young Artist for Theatre Prince Lamla, culture and craft mentor Eugenie Drakes and jazz music legend Herbie Tsoaeli.

2014 Recipients_of_the_2014_ACT_Lifetime_Achievement_Awards_(l-r)_Richard_Loring_(Theatre),_Mandie_van_der_Spuy_(Arts_Advocacy),_Sam_Nzima_(Visual_Art)_and_Andre_P_Brink_(Literature)._Pic_by_Gareth_Jacobs


The five deserving Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Sam Nzima (third from left in the photo above) for Visual Art, Richard Cock (picture below) for Music, Andre P. Brink (far right in the photo above) for Literature and Richard Loring (far left) for Theatre. The Lifetime Achievement Award for Arts Advocacy, a new award, honours patrons in the arts who have devoted a lifetime of work to supporting the arts, and this year this award has gone to Mandie van der Spuy (second from left in the picture above).

2014 Recipient_of_the_2014_ACT_Lifetime_Achievement_Award_for_Music_Richard_Cock._Pic_by_Gareth_Jacobs


The 2014 ACT Awards ceremony was sponsored by Nedbank Arts Affinity and hosted by Sun International and presented in association with the Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO), the Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organisation (DALRO), Media24 Books, and is supported by the Distell Foundation, Classicfeel Magazine and Business and Arts South Africa (BASA).

What a fabulous evening!



About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s