Planes: Fire & Rescue

I’m the emergency services type, so I wanted to see Dusty Crophopper, the hero of the movie, go on to become a successful firefighting plane, saving lives and making me feel good.  Planes:  Fire & Rescue, a 2014 animated adventure movie by Walt Disney Pictures charmed me.

Planes-Fire-&-Rescue-26

Dane Cook brought Dusty Crophopper to life, while Skipper (Stacy Keach), Chug (Brad Garrett), Dottie (Teri Hatcher), Sparky (Danny Mann) and Leadbottom (Cedric the Entertainer) supported him again in this sequel to Planes, which I did not see.  One did not need to have seen the first to quickly make sense of the second.

In this movie Dusty Crophopper develops gearbox problems and he could crash at any time.  There are no replacement gearboxes anywhere.  This is a children’s movie but there is a sobering reflection on one’s mortality for the grandparents watching the movie.

The grandparents will probably also find Nick “Loop’n” Lopez, a helicopter police officer played by Erik Estrada in a series called CHoPs, a wonderful, if somewhat brief, trip down memory lane.

PLANES FIRE & RESCUE

Anyway, I digress and preempt.  Dusty takes on a new career, undergoing firefighting training under the command of a helicopter, Blade Ranger.  There’s the bad guy, Cad, who reminds me of many South African politicians.  The ending is happy, but it is in the very end credits that we find Cad being demoted and reassigned as a park ranger in the very inhospitable Death Valley.  Pity we don’t have a similar posting for some of our bad boys.

All round my inner child and I enjoyed this movie and I give it 6/10.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

