See, swirl, sniff, sip and savour at The Wine Show, Joburg, 2014

The Wine Show launched in 2006, making this the 9th edition.  In 2013 there were over 9000 visitors to the show at the Sandton Convention Centre, of which I was one.  I had a great time, so this year I made my way back to The Wine Show, Joburg, to have a look, and a little taste of some of the over 1000 wines being marketed to Gauteng’s discerning buyers.

The Wine Show 2014

The five S’s of wine tasting are seeing, swirling, smelling, sipping and savouring.  Then one should spit or swallow depending on whether one is driving home and/or working the next day.  I saw, swirled, sniffed, sipped and, sadly, spat my way through a number of taste adventures.

Most of the wine poured actually lands up in one of these.

Most of the wine poured actually lands up in one of these.

I stopped off at the Monis stand where they unseated the fuddy duddy image sherry had. (I remember my parents drinking Pale Dry in the sixties, always as a before dinner drink). Sherry is a fortified wine, and Monis’ history in South Africa goes back to 1906 when Roberto Monis started making these fortified wines in Paarl.  These wines, no longer allowed to be called “sherry” (because only Spanish fortified wines are really sherry.  I taste their Medium Cream Cobbler.  It is delicious and very potent.  I am wanting to learn more about their other cocktails and will be bringing readers a full article on the Monis wines and some cocktails which can be made using them.

Champagne and Methode Cap Classique bubblies

Champagne and Methode Cap Classique bubblies

The Bayede! range

The Bayede! range

Woolworths wines ready for tasting.

Woolworths wines ready for tasting.

Garagiste wine beautifully presented.

Garagiste wine beautifully presented.

I promise that I set out to investigate budget wines and then got side tracked

I promise that I set out to investigate budget wines and then got side tracked

Condiments for the Italian foods.  I would have tried some but there was nowhere to sit when I wanted to eat.

Condiments for the Italian foods. I would have tried some but there was nowhere to sit when I wanted to eat.

For me The Wine Show 2014 is over.  What a wonderful event.

For me The Wine Show 2014 is over. What a wonderful event.

 

 

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Festivals, Food, Wine and other alcohol and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

