Shrove Tuesday 2014

Shrove Tuesday or Fat Tuesday is simply the day before Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent.  In countries with English connections it is traditionally dubbed “Pancake Day” because pancakes were made, supposedly to use up all the eggs and butter and milk.  Not that pancakes use a lot of any of these ingredients.

My family of origin typically made a very thin crepe using the following recipe.  1 egg, 1 cup flour, 1 cup milk, 1 cup water and salt to taste.  Beat all the ingredients together.  Allow to settle (traditionally for one hour).  Make pancakes.  Serve.  Eat.  Enjoy.

Pancake batter ala family recipe

Pancake batter ala family recipe

This makes about ten pancakes.

My sister's fancy pancake pan.  I have nothing this expensive for mine.  But I can flip pancakes.

My sister’s fancy pancake pan. I have nothing this expensive for mine. But I can flip pancakes.

Purchased at a whopping great price.  I am a tad jealous.

Pancakes with cinnamon and sugar and lemon

Pancakes with cinnamon and sugar and lemon

I make mine with cinnamon sugar and lemon and golden syrup.  My sister spurns these as not being very exciting.

Berry pancakes.  The ice cream was still to come.

Berry pancakes. The ice cream was still to come.

Frozen berries with sugar.  The berries are sour.  Woolworths berry icecream went on top but I forgot to take a photograph in my haste to eat my pancake.  It was delicious.

There on the left is a picture of the ice cream - and the little stack of pancakes - and the frozen berries.  Before it all got eaten.

There on the left is a picture of the ice cream – and the little stack of pancakes – and the frozen berries. Before it all got eaten.

Shrove Tuesday is not a religious holiday, but it certainly gets celebrated with a great deal of pleasure.

I wish those of you who are undertaking various Lenten disciplines well this year.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Food, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrove Tuesday 2014

  1. I love your “boring” version of the crepe, I like to think of it as a classic! sometimes less is more 🙂

Leave a Reply

