Going Gooding

I expected to enjoy Going Gooding. It is a one man (Malcolm Gooding) play about the world of radio in the sixties and seventies when I was growing up. What I did not expect was how MUCH I was going to enjoy it.

As Tom McGee

It really is a trip down memory lane, and the number of “Hey! I remember that!” moments was high. It took me back to evenings knitting in front of the fire, to Saturday afternoons with my father tinkering in the garage, and to all the “Braaivleis, rugby, sunny skies and Cheverolet” moments of my long gone childhood.

As Charles Fortune

I laughed along at the present day satire and remembered, sometimes wistfully, sometimes with relief that things are different now.

Just the cigarette advertisements alone are worth the price of the ticket. They sold an idyllic picture of life to an enslaved people. I’m blaming Malcolm Gooding for my addiction to Dunhill cigarettes which wasn’t quashed until 12 May 1984 when I finally gave up smoking. I also heard names, products and music which sent my nostalgia scores rocketing.

Malcolm at Microphone

No time travel needed. All this is packaged in an entertaining one hour theatre production.

What a blast from the past!

Reading News

Performances at Foxwood, 13, 5th Street, Houghton, Johannesburg (around the corner from Killarney Mall) are on Friday 24 and Saturday 25 January at 8.00pm and Sunday 26 January at 12.00pm and again on Friday 31 January and Saturday 1 February at 8.00pm and Sunday 2 February at 12.00pm. Bookings: 011 486 0935 or admin@foxwood.co.zahttp://www.foxwood.co.za Book for the a la carte dinner before the evening performance, and for the popular Sunday buffet lunch after the Sunday matinees.

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Theatre and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Gooding

  1. Pingback: Not all the works at the NAF are new … | Looking at arts, culture and entertainment in Gauteng

Leave a Reply

