St Francis of Assisi

St Francis of Assisi always strikes me as the kind of person one would find a bit “odd” in real life. Talking to animals and the sun and moon … well, that is kind of nutty. It is also World Animal Day and, no, that’s not coincidence. Good day to visit the local zoo.

St Francis of Assisi 4 October 2013

Anyway, I was doing some research and I came upon the information that the beautiful prayer associated with St Francis is probably not his at all as it cannot be traced back further than 1912, when it was printed in Paris in French, in a small spiritual magazine called La Clochette (The Little Bell), published by La Ligue de la Sainte-Messe (The Holy Mass League). The author’s name was not given.

Here is an English translation:

Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace;
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is error, the truth;
Where there is doubt, the faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
And where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master, Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled, as to console;
To be understood, as to understand;
To be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Just a pleasant thought for today, 4 October, St Francis’ feast day … and my prayer (I’m good at pointing out the errors of others, replacing it with the truth – Oops!). 🙂

About moirads

Clergy person, theatre and music lover, avid reader, foodie. Basically, I write about what I do, where I go and things I love (or hate).
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

